The Girl Folder

Posted on 9th June, 2017

Plundering time and space for musical meaning, The Girl Folder create original, lyrical and above all melodic songs.

“There’s melody in everything we do. It’s the only rule, well, unwritten rule that we have as a band. Anything goes as long as it works, but it has to be melodic.”

The Girl Folder started with singer songwriter Matthew West relocating to Newcastle, NSW. Originally from London, Matthew gained extensive airplay on alternative London radio stations XFM (now Radio X) and Total Rock radio with his band Mobster, who also got the coveted ‘single of the week’ from Record Collector Magazine. After relocating, he then proceeded to start an open mic night for two reasons. 1 to showcase his songs and 2 to meet musicians.

A year later, The Girl Folder was born.

Along with Matthew – Vox, acoustic/keys, the band members consist of Scott Claybrough – guitar/vox (supported The Angels), Dave Evans – guitar/keys  (ex Forgonia), Adam Gathercole – drums (played with Slash. Yes, THAT Slash!) and Dan Cordery on bass (ex Galleri). The Girl Folder have been wowing audiences along the NSW coast, from the Old Bar Festival to the Wingham Akoostik Festival and beyond.

Share This